We Help You Launch An Aggressive DUI Defense

We are strong and experienced advocates for clients charged with a DUI. Because drunk driving charges can have serious implications for your future, they call for an aggressive defense. The need for focused and diligent counsel is especially pronounced if you are facing a third, fourth or fifth DUI offense.

In preparing the strongest possible defense for you, our lawyers will closely investigate whether your constitutional rights were upheld when the arrest was made. We will advise you on your options and help you weigh the benefits of each approach. We will work to achieve the best possible result, whether that means having the charges reduced to a lesser offense or even dismissed. If court is your best option, we will fight for you aggressively at trial, seeking always to win.

At Goble & Yow, PLLC in Clarksville, Tennessee, we can help you fight to keep your driver's license, get a hardship license and potentially keep your driving record intact.

Crossing The Center Line Is Not Enough

By law, the police must have substantial reason to pull you over — crossing the center line once is not enough. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important you know that specific procedures must be followed before an arrest can lawfully be made.

If you were stopped and charged with a DUI, we will make sure that the evidence supports the allegations in your drunk driving arrest. We will look for mitigating circumstances, including:

  • Whether there was probable cause
  • Whether you were advised of your rights
  • Whether the Breathalyzer was given properly

First Offense Or Multiple Offenses

The punishments for the different DUI offenses vary. If you are charged with a DUI and it is your first, there may be more leniency or offerings of alternative punishments (to jail or fines) such as rehabilitation. However, for second, third and subsequent DUI charges, or felony DUI charges, you are facing much more elevated consequences, including longer jail sentences and exorbitant fines. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock system in your vehicle.

DUI Penalties in Tennessee

  • First offense DUI: Classified as a misdemeanor.
  • Blood alcohol level (BAC) under .20: Jail time of 48 hours up to 11 months. For offenders under the age of 21, the maximum jail time is 29 days. Fines of $350 to $1,500 plus court costs. Required attendance at a state-approved DUI school. Possible treatment program requirement. License revocation for one or more years, but possibly able to qualify for a restricted license during that period.
  • Blood alcohol level (BAC) over .20: Jail time of seven days up to 11 months. Fines of $350 to $1,500 plus court costs. Required attendance at a state-approved DUI school. Possible treatment program requirement.
  • Second offense DUI: Classified as a misdemeanor. Jail time of 45 days up to 11 months and 29 days. Fines of $600 up to $3,500 plus court costs. Required attendance at a state-approved DUI school. Possible treatment program requirement. Possible ignition interlock requirement if DUI occurred within five years of a previous DUI. License revocation for two or more years, but possibly able to qualify for a restricted license during that period.
  • Third offense DUI: Classified as a misdemeanor. Jail time of 120 days up to 11 months and 29 days. Fines of $1,000 up to $10,000 plus court costs. Required attendance at a state-approved DUI school. Possible treatment program requirement. Possible ignition interlock requirement if DUI occurred within five years of a previous DUI. The court may also order you to forfeit your vehicle to the state. License revocation for three to 10 years.
  • Fourth offense DUI or subsequent DUI offense: Classified as a felony. Minimum required jail time of 120 days, served consecutively, and up to one year total in jail. Fines of $3,000 up to $15,000 plus court costs. Required attendance at a state-approved DUI school. Possible treatment program requirement. Possible ignition interlock requirement if DUI occurred within five years of a previous DUI. The court may also order you to forfeit your vehicle to the state. License revocation for five or more years.

Call Immediately | We Offer Free Initial Consultations

We offer a free initial consultation. If you have been charged with a DUI, are facing a suspended license or have received a traffic ticket, please call our office at 931-266-4763 or send us an email.